I'm wondering what to say to her. "Not really EVE RY ON E... but i called Manila for support!"
Mom - "WHATT?? will you please ask her to not come, what if he likes her??"
Me (raised eye brow) - "Are you serious? she's married!"
Mom - "ya but she doesnt look it, she's still young and you'll are the same age, he might get confused!"
Me (actually taking part in this conversation) - "This guy A. will pick manila over me - which is ok everyone has a choice, but he hasnt liked me in the first place and B. (more importantly) HE WILL GET CONFUSED between me and manila! You actually want me to marry this guy???"
Mom - No arguments! ask her to come later... and what support you want?
Me - Never mind!
This is a conversation i have with my mother a few hours before Mr. sweet - simple - actually a nice guy with his mum comes to see me.
What i was most excited about was the amazing 'batata wadas' my mother had made - she hadnt made them in sooo long i was dying to eat them!- home made batata wadas rock! i actually had two before he came and two while he was at home and two more once he was gone.. yUmmm...
The house smelt of boiled, spiced potatoes! The house looked super clean, every light in the house was switched on - it actually looked like a gold showroom, i was the ornament and yess, we did have a dark velvet cloth to put me against, for me to SHINE! :D
So anyway, Mr. Nice guy comes in with his mum (talk about her in a bit) and of course, my aunt (who is currently my mother's super hero) who brought in this 'rishta'. Oh, but 5 minutes before they arrive, ive had a cuppa tea and my constipation gives way and i rush to CRAP! (sorry this detail is needed) - while washing my hands, i accidentally splash water all over my kurta and now im stained! It's cool, i guess, it'll dry off and i walk out confidently with water on the lower front of my Kurta! - THE FIRST THING, i know, THE MOTHER NOTICES (his mother!)
I sit on my couch and thus the talks begin - it feels funny (it is my first time, at home!) - it is legally allowed for me to check this guy out! He looked all right, actually looked much younger! how old was he? (no clue!)
My parents, his mum and my aunt continued to talk about family and common friends. Turns out we know a lot of people in common, im suddenly wishing he turns out to be my brother through some weird coincidence! Atleast something cool to write about... ;) but no that didnt happen.
The awesome wadas are out - im asked to serve - GLADLY! they smell killer!. Boy refuses to eat more than one! Shares his plate with Mother. Aunt eats what's given to her and so does the rest of my family. Boy eats the wada and leaves the chutney in his plate (my mother couldnt get it out of her system! she kept complaining about that after he left!)
"Do you want to ask her anything!" - his mother asks him.
I DO! I DO! - im screaming in my head. We are asked to chose between the balcony at home or go downstairs - i chose to go down. (i have to tell him about how i dont want kids rememeber!).
"Come back quick!" instruct his mother! (Aing!)
So we go down, i cant seem to ask him much, we have a decent conversation. He did hesitate to tell me about his drinking habits! hehehe
Me -"So what do u do on weekends?"
Boy - "i hang with friends!" (cool! i know lots of men who dont!)
Me - "where?"
Boy - "camp, koregaon park!" (these are areas! im looking for more specific info)
Me - "so where in camp? on mg road?"
Boy - "errrr.. no!" (thats it... gimme more!)
Me - "the mall?"
Boy - "ummm no.." (Arrrgghh!!! is he gonna tell? )
Me - "Thousand oaks?" (please say yes! for all those who dont know, its a pub!)
Boy - "uhhh.. ya!" (BINGO!)
Me - "oh cool!"
Boy - "yea i like that place, i actually like smokies better!" (Wow more pubs! this guy is cool!)
So after this info, i was kinda ready to head back home - i didnt really want to know more.i was happy to find out that this guy seemed a little outgoing and cool, all the other details could wait. (Read Shaadi.com chronicles Part I to know why i was relieved with such little info!)
Got home, said bye and my mother thinks this guy is perfect for me -
1. He is sweet.
2. He is simple.
3. He is tall
4. He shares his first name with your father (hyaah!)
5. His last name is the same as my mother's maiden name!
Mom's SOLD! still needed some selling, after all -
1. He had a mother who wanted us to get back quick from a "get to know" session. HOW!
2. He looked like my younger brother!
3. He shares his first name with my dad! (IMAGINE!)
4. His last name is the same as my mother's maiden name (Not a very cool name that is! TRUST ME!)
5. and, he wasted my mother's most amazing coconut chutney!
So yaa... im not soo keen yet... actually im just being filmy, but more importantly, im just being a girl - i want to fall in love! i want to marry the man i love - not a guy who doesnt want a second helping of my mother's yummiest 'batata wadas'!