Pages

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Shaadi.com Chronicles - Part III

"I hope you haven't told anyone about this guy's family coming home!", mom at her superstitious best!

I'm wondering what to say to her. "Not really EVE RY ON E... but i called Manila for support!"

Mom - "WHATT?? will you please ask her to not come, what if he likes her??"

Me (raised eye brow) - "Are you serious? she's married!"

Mom - "ya but she doesnt look it, she's still young and you'll are the same age, he might get confused!"

Me (actually taking part in this conversation) - "This guy A. will pick manila over me - which is ok everyone has a choice, but he hasnt liked me in the first place and B. (more importantly) HE WILL GET CONFUSED between me and manila! You actually want me to marry this guy???"

Mom - No arguments! ask her to come later... and what support you want?

Me - Never mind!

This is a conversation i have with my mother a few hours before Mr. sweet - simple - actually a nice guy with his mum comes to see me.

What i was most excited about was the amazing 'batata wadas' my mother had made - she hadnt made them in sooo long i was dying to eat them!- home made batata wadas rock! i actually had two before he came and two while he was at home and two more once he was gone.. yUmmm...

The house smelt of boiled, spiced potatoes! The house looked super clean, every light in the house was switched on - it actually looked like a gold showroom, i was the ornament and yess, we did have a dark velvet cloth to put me against, for me to SHINE! :D

So anyway, Mr. Nice guy comes in with his mum (talk about her in a bit) and of course, my aunt (who is currently my mother's super hero) who brought in this 'rishta'. Oh, but 5 minutes before they arrive, ive had a cuppa tea and my constipation gives way and i rush to CRAP! (sorry this detail is needed) - while washing my hands, i accidentally splash water all over my kurta and now im stained! It's cool, i guess, it'll dry off and i walk out confidently with water on the lower front of my Kurta! - THE FIRST THING, i know, THE MOTHER NOTICES (his mother!)

I sit on my couch and thus the talks begin - it feels funny (it is my first time, at home!) - it is legally allowed for me to check this guy out! He looked all right, actually looked much younger! how old was he? (no clue!)

My parents, his mum and my aunt continued to talk about family and common friends. Turns out we know a lot of people in common, im suddenly wishing he turns out to be my brother through some weird coincidence! Atleast something cool to write about... ;) but no that didnt happen.

The awesome wadas are out - im asked to serve - GLADLY! they smell killer!. Boy refuses to eat more than one! Shares his plate with Mother. Aunt eats what's given to her and so does the rest of my family. Boy eats the wada and leaves the chutney in his plate (my mother couldnt get it out of her system! she kept complaining about that after he left!)

"Do you want to ask her anything!" - his mother asks him.

I DO! I DO! - im screaming in my head. We are asked to chose between the balcony at home or go downstairs - i chose to go down. (i have to tell him about how i dont want kids rememeber!).

"Come back quick!" instruct his mother! (Aing!)

So we go down, i cant seem to ask him much, we have a decent conversation. He did hesitate to tell me about his drinking habits! hehehe

Me -"So what do u do on weekends?"

Boy - "i hang with friends!" (cool! i know lots of men who dont!)

Me - "where?"

Boy - "camp, koregaon park!" (these are areas! im looking for more specific info)

Me - "so where in camp? on mg road?"

Boy - "errrr.. no!" (thats it... gimme more!)

Me - "the mall?"

Boy - "ummm no.." (Arrrgghh!!! is he gonna tell? )

Me - "Thousand oaks?" (please say yes! for all those who dont know, its a pub!)

Boy - "uhhh.. ya!" (BINGO!)

Me - "oh cool!"

Boy - "yea i like that place, i actually like smokies better!" (Wow more pubs! this guy is cool!)

So after this info, i was kinda ready to head back home - i didnt really want to know more.i was happy to find out that this guy seemed a little outgoing and cool, all the other details could wait. (Read Shaadi.com chronicles Part I to know why i was relieved with such little info!)

Got home, said bye and my mother thinks this guy is perfect for me -

1. He is sweet.
2. He is simple.
3. He is tall
4. He shares his first name with your father (hyaah!)
5. His last name is the same as my mother's maiden name!

Mom's SOLD!  still needed some selling, after all -

1. He had a mother who wanted us to get back quick from a "get to know" session. HOW!
2. He looked like my younger brother!
3. He shares his first name with my dad! (IMAGINE!)
4. His last name is the same as my mother's maiden name (Not a very cool name that is! TRUST ME!)
5. and, he wasted my mother's most amazing coconut chutney!

So yaa... im  not soo keen yet... actually im just being filmy, but more importantly, im just being a girl - i want to fall in love! i want to marry the man i love - not a guy who doesnt want a second helping of my mother's yummiest 'batata wadas'!

Shaadi.com Chronicles - Part II

I watched Rockstar last night. Imtiyaz Ali aimed to show the story of EPIC LOVE! (whether he was successful or not is another issue i'll talk about in another note) but Epic Love... What is Epic Love? Is it something im looking for... for 6,000 rupees?

"No! Go for our personalized services, which costs 13,000 and you'll get better service" promised the counselor at the center when my mother called to find out why there were no more prospects, after the first disaster!

Mum - But atleast gimme what's 6,000 rupees worth!

Persistent Counselor - Madam! I assure you best service in our personalized service, we'll do all the calling, all follow up, all the meetings will be organized at coffee shops with free coffee from us! (I WAS EXCITED! FREE COFFEE!)

Mum - And what do i get for 6,000??

Persistent Counsellor - You can view contact details of the boys online and get in touch with them directly!

Mum - well i have viewed contact details of 8 boys, but no it says i've reached my limit. Now i can't access anymore details! i thought you said i could access 150.

PC - Yes! after 8 boys, you will have to wait 3 days to be able to activate your account again AT NO EXTRA COST! (WOW!) But Ma'am your daughter's profile is sooooo nice, try the personalised service and she'll get a groom in no time! i'll try and make it 10,000 for you.

Mum - No NO! if the profile is so nice, why am i not getting anyone now! We'll wait some more before we pay any further...

Just when i was beginning to enjoy the process, i have no boys to meet!

But on a more serious note... In my hunt for Epic Love, am i being fair to  my mum? I'm a romantic, i always have been and all i want is for a boy to love me enough to last me a lifetime... not asking for too much, am i?

But i guess, for now, i'll have to rely on my mother's relentless calling to the shaadi center, knowing well that there might never be anyone in this whole wide world who'll love me like my mother!

Shaadi.com Chronicles - Part I

So here i am - Single, 28 and the daughter of a mother who hyperventilates even when she finds out that the hero of her favorite TV series is married (in real life).

My Mother is in that zone where she thinks me getting married will solve all my troubles (even skin troubles). She thinks that, all these years, I've only wasted in being friends - had i initiated romance with someone i would have had my first child by now (SURE! like i didn't initiate romance ME!! no ROMANCE??). Anyway, so now after much insistence I've allowed her to pay 6K for a 6 month membership at one of these shaadi type websites!

No! this is not my way of letting the world know how miserable i feel - but my stories are meant to entertain, only ENTERTAIN!

Also because i met a few girls who are going through the same and i want them to see the BRIGHT side, which brings me  to the first guy i ever met - "Mr. I've seen life and trust me, i think you need help"!!

So I'm 45 minutes late for a meeting my mother had fixed. According to her, she told me.According to me, this is what happened?

Mom calls me in the middle of work - "Hey! they really want you to meet this guy, i told them we dont want bald boys (correction MEN!) but they insist we meet him. So can we go today at 6?"

ME - "No! of course not! im at work at 6, ill leave by 630. ask them if 7 is ok?"

Mom - OK!

I dont receive any call after this. So i assume 7 is not okay! Anyhu, here i am with Mr. Bright ass, 45 minutes late!

Bright Ass - Hi! my name is "typically Puneri" im 6 feet tall!

ME (staring at him) - Hi I'm Meenal and this is the first time im meeting someone!

Bright Ass (wide eyed) - oh is it? why is that so? (im not changing the script, these are his words)

ME (stumped) - umm... because my Mother paid for..

Bright Ass (butting in) - OHH!!! so your mother wants you to be married, you dont want to marry?

ME (a little irritated) - of course i wanna be married (just not to you!)

Bright Ass - Why you have an accent?

ME - because I've been born and brought up in Dubai but by now i think i've lost it (but i guess, im only going to lose my mind in the next 10 mins)

Bright Ass - So tell me about yourself...

ME - What would you like to know..

BA - anything, what you do? what you like? your height? (WHAT THE FU*@ is the obsession with height???) i didnt see properly when you were standing (basically didn't check me out!)

ME - well, i work for a private FM station in Pune. I head the programming..

BA - oh, what softwares you work on?

ME - umm... "NAme of Software"

BA - oh you work only on one software fulll day??

ME (confused and then enlightened) - oh Programming has nothing to do with Softwares - its Radio Programming!

BA - oh achha achha.

ME - before anything else i must tell you, i don't want to have kids!

BA (shocked and now raises his volume) - WHAT?

ME - ya! im not into kids that much..

BA - how? why you dont like kids? is it because you had some tragedy?

ME nodding my head (what kinda tragedy would i have had with KIDS?!?!?)

BA - Sorry for being personal, shweta.... but im also a little into psychology and i like to study psyches of people (sure, why dont you get the name of your experiments right before your study!) but is it related to some past mishap?

ME - no! honestly, i just dont like kids - im not  a kid friendly person! i only like kids i know!

BA (ignoring what im saying, in his psyche trance) - maybe its because your parents didnt raise you well, no offense shweta! but you think you will not be able to raise a child!

ME (shocked and laughing) - WHAT!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! R u serious? i adore my parents and i dont think anyone can do a better job than they have with me! WHAT R U SAYING?

BA - NO! NO! sorry for being personal, but this is the first time i'm seeing a girl saying she doesn't want children. its a very EUROFEAN conceft! (yea ive only HEARD of people who say F instead of P but i finally met one!) SO what is your conceft of marriage?

ME - two friends living together!

BA (smiling, patronising) - what about family?

ME - what about it?

BA - see i want to have kids to pass on my wealth - you might call me aristocratic or whatever - lekin mein apna paisa daan toh nahi karunga, thats why i want to have kids!

(great! this guy will get some chik knocked up only so he knows his wealth is in good hands after he's gone!)

ME - Sure! i guess this isnt going to work then... Also i would have cut you earlier, but i didnt see this going anywhere... but my name is Meenal!

Bright ARSE! - Oh yes! Meenal Apte, right?

ME - NEVERMIND!! it doesn't matter!

I left the room, saw another girl and her parents paying up to find a suitable match!

Counsellor at shaadi - "Dont worry! we will only make you meet people that match your profile" (WHAT!!!!)

Anyway, this was the first, i may have to meet many more... After all, we've paid 6K, i need to get my money's worth dont i??

P.S. Nishu and Dee, this story was for you, since we havent had the opportunity to discuss what happened!